Rainbow in the Golden Hour at Bryant Lake

Rainbow at Bryant Lake, Minneapolis

Last weekend, i visited Bryant Lake in Minneapolis to check how the fall colors looked like around the lake. Being a cloudy day with hardly any sun throughout the day, my plan was to just check the status of fall colors, and return on a brighter day with my camera to capture the evening light. Colors seemed to be close to peak, though in next few days, it might get better, i thought so. I was almost done with my survey of the lake area.

Just then, to my amazement, sun came out from behind the clouds and the whole landscape changed dramatically with few seconds. I decided to stay on. I took out my camera and began to shoot the scenery, shining with the sunlight and draped in the light of golden hour, considered to be one of the best times for photography. There was some drizzle as well. I was about to return when i turned my back and saw the formation of a small rainbow from amidst the dark cloud. I went back to the fishing pier and took few shots of the evening with the rainbow.

This post was inspired by this week’s photo challenge: Shine.

More shots of the evening from my earlier posts:

Badlands National Park at Sunset

Tulips in Minnesota Arboretum at Sunset

Sunset at Normandale Lake, Bloomington

Woodlake Nature Center

Arlington Memorial Bridge in Washington DC

Sunset in Bali

Silhouette on the Bank of River Ganges

Twilight at Centennial Lake Pake

This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Sunset, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Rainbow in the Golden Hour at Bryant Lake

  1. asthaguptaa says:

    Your pictures are as stunning as ever!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mukhamani says:

    Beautiful, such a lovely moment, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glorious! That rainbow is the icing on the cake!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s impossible at this time of year, not to take photos.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s right Mallee. This is one of the best times of the year, apart from spring. I had been tracking the peak colors across state parks in Minnesota and planned photo trips accordingly. Thanks n have a good day.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the golden hour. It would be awesome if there was such a things as a golden day or golden week. or just all the time the light was like that. But then I suppose we would get use to it and it wouldn’t be so special.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I too wish that green hour was not just an hour but probably extended little more, if not the whole day. That would be the best that can happen for a photographer. But I agree with you that then that would probably lose its significance.

      Thanks so much for visiting my site and your kind words 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Shine: Moon | What's (in) the picture?

  7. Aquileana says:

    Excellent pic, my friend. Very beautiful… sending love and best wishes. Aquileana 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Very nice! All those shades of orange & copper…

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

